Leave a comment

Some interesting articles on computational archaeology

I read Discovery news every day as I find their articles interesting and easy to read. Recently I added Popular Science and Popular mechanics to my feeds as well. All of these feeds have provided very interesting articles which can sometimes be related to computational archaeology in some way. Of course, as a computer geek and an archaeology lover, I also tend to find the separate technology and archaeology news to be fascinating.

I have read many relevant articles and academic papers since I discovered that Computational Archaeology exists. This post includes links to 3 articles that I remember I found interesting. Of course, now that I have started this blog, I will add a lot more articles as I read them, but this is the first small batch.

The latest article I have read referred to exactly what I want to do: Marine archaeology robotics. This article (found here ) discusses an archaeologist’s new way of looking for shipwrecks. He uses a two kinds of underwater robots, one to scan the sea floor and the other to take photographs of promising areas. A downfall of his approach is that he still needs divers to interfere if the robot cannot function in a specific area or to get a more detailed look at the shipwreck. What would my role be here? I would like to one day program such robots to allow them to do much more than just scan the area. I would like to train them to perform certain tasks on their own without needing human interference. I highly recommend to anyone with an interest in marine archaeology and computer science to read this article. It may be long but it is very interesting.

Another article that mentions the use of robots for marine archaeology can be found here. This article discusses how archaeologists plan to use robots to find Amelia Earhart’s plane. Unlike in the other article, where the robots search for any shipwreck along a large area, here the robots are limited to one small area where Earhart’s plane is believed to be. If you like adventure books, you may find this article quite interesting as well. An article that updates the reader on the progress of the search was also released recently. This article can be found here.

Note that computational archaeology is not only about robots being thrown into the water. If you are more of an artist than a computer scientist or engineer, there is something in computational archaeology for you too. 3D modelling of objects or structures can often be helpful to archaeologists in order to visualise their discoveries. These visualisations may allow the archaeologist to, for example, determine how a structure looked in order to interpret what it was used for in the past. An article that discusses an online environment created to tour Egypt’s pyramids was published in Discovery news and it can be found here. Another 3D reconstruction, that of an old ship named Dauphine, can be found here.

This is the end of today’s articles, however, more interesting links will be added to the blog soon.

Leave a Reply

