1 Comment

A shorter experience around Bulgarian archaeology

So I went back to Bulgaria this year to attend a conference in Sozopol. Today’s post focuses on mentioning and depicting the new archaeological sites that I visited this time as well as the sites I re-visited.

I first went to Sozopol for the conference. Here I had a beautiful view of the fortification around the city from my hotel room. I also re-visited the Apolonian ruins that I went to last time which had been excavated further. It was quite exciting to see the progress that had taken place in this excavation.

One of the nights an Italian presenter from the conference and I decided to walk around the city and ended up spotting archaeology everywhere. Firstly we spotted some Roman ruins at the bottom of a modern structure. We then re-visited the Medieval church. As we continued walking we spotted a Roman arc behind a restaurant next to the sea side. Lastly, in the “new” part of the city we spotted some more of what looked like Roman ruins but with Greek pillars near them. We were a bit confused about this structure, but as we came closer to it we noticed the pillars were not part of the structure but were just placed there (and they looked genuine). It seems some kind of reconstruction was taking place there and the Greek and Roman archaeology had ended up being placed together for now. There were no signs describing this structure so I am still not sure what it was meant to be.

Sozopol - View of old fortification from my hotel room

Sozopol – View of old fortification from my hotel room

Sozopol - Apollonia ruins from within the city

Sozopol – Apollonia ruins from within the city

Sozopol - Apollonia ruins from the outside of the city

Sozopol – Apollonia ruins from the outside of the city

Sozopol - Ruins at the bottom of a modern structure

Sozopol – Ruins at the bottom of a modern structure

Sozopol - Ruins by the pillars

Sozopol – Ruins by the pillars

Sozopol - Pillars in the new city

Sozopol – Pillars in the new city

Next I went to Nesebar for one night. I decided to take a walk around the old city. There was an archaeological exhibition taking place that week, but I had arrived in Nessebar too late to attend it ūüė¶ Here I revisited the fortifications outside the city, the¬†Hagia Sophia Church¬†and the¬†church of Christ Pantocrator. I then found a tower and the ruins of the¬†Basilica Holy Mother of God Eleoussa¬†while walking around the outer part of the city.

Nesebar - Fortification outside old city

Nesebar – Fortification outside old city

Nesebar - Hagia Sophia Church

Nesebar – Hagia Sophia Church

Nesebar - Church of Christ Pantocrator

Nesebar – Church of Christ Pantocrator

SAM_3377

Nesebar – Basilica of the Holy Mother of God Eleusa

Nesebar - Tower

Nesebar – Tower

Lastly I went to Sofia. Here I was able to go inside the Church of St. Petka which was closed the last time I visited. I then re-visited the city excavation that was taking place by the metro and was disappointed to see that some of the remains had been packed into boxes and were being moved to some other location. Lastly, I visited the remains of an amphitheatre located inside a hotel in Sofia with my cousin and the ruins of an old church located under the St. Sofia church.

Sofia - Church of St. Petka

Sofia – Church of St. Petka

Sofia - Serdika Amphitheatre

Sofia – Serdika Amphitheatre

Sofia - Ruins by the subway

Sofia - Ruins being removed

Sofia – Ruins being removed

One comment on “A shorter experience around Bulgarian archaeology

Leave a Reply

