Leave a comment

Computational archaeology during my trip through Turkey

I disappeared for a couple of months, I am sorry about that. I was busy on a road trip around Turkey, moving to another city and starting a new job. A lot of exciting things have been happening.

In December two friends, my partner and I flew to turkey and hired a car. Our road trip consisted of the following places:

  • Nicaea
  • Afyonkarahisar
  • Ankara
  • Cappadocia
  • Pammukkale
  • Selcuk and Sirince
  • Kusadasi
  • Istanbul

During this trip we encountered a lot of archaeology, Turkey is a country with fascinating history and impressive remains. Every city had some ancient building or the ruins of some ancient structure.

When we went to Ephesus, we met this little guy:

Kristina_5960

This device is called a quadcopter. The owners were using it to photograph or video Ephesus. This reminded me of the drones previously used to perform an aerial survey of the same site (see my article on archaeological drones for more information).

Quadcopters are useful tools to perform aerial surveys of archaelogical sites. Here are some articles with examples of quadcopters being used for this particular purpose:

Arch-Aerial

Game of drones (hehe)

– Quadcopters used to survey Guatemalan ruins

Quadcopter over Tel Dan

Quadcopters as the archaeologist’s eye

Although this particular quadcopter may not necessarily have been used to survey Ephesus, it did remind me of previous archaeological applications of drones. It was exciting to see technology and history together in one place.

When we went to Istanbul I found the following inside the Hagia Sophia:

IMG_20150101_133404

So what is this block and why have I taken a (really bad) picture of it?

These blocks are used to perform a 3d survey. Through the blurriness of the photo you may be able to see the word Faro. Faro is a company that deals with 3D modeling technology.It seems a team at the Hagia Sophia was busy building a 3d model of the building.

I must have looked a bit strange taking a photo of a piece of paper on the wall while I have, well… the Hagia Sophia around me. I wanted to, however, share this small discovery with you.

If anyone has some more information on exactly what these blocks are used for when it comes to the 3d survey please comment on this post. I assume their purpose is to mark some position that needs to be recorded.

Leave a Reply

